BERG, A.: Lulu (Salzburg Festival, 2010)

BERG, A.: Lulu (Salzburg Festival, 2010)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Composer: Berg, Alban
Libretto/Text Author: Berg, Alban
Conductor: Albrecht, Marc

A Fifteen-year-old Girl: Pictet, Emilie
A High-School Boy: Burggraaf, Cora
A Theatrical Dresser: Burggraaf, Cora
An Animal Tamer: Mayer, Thomas Johannes
Countess Geschwitz: Baumgartner, Tanja Ariane
Dr. Schon: Volle, Michael
Jack the Ripper: Volle, Michael
The Banker: Tzonev, Martin
The Manservant: Zednik, Heinz
The Marquis: Conrad, Andreas
The Painter: Breslik, Pavol
The Prince: Zednik, Heinz
The Theatre Manager: Tzonev, Martin

Stage Director: Nemirova, Vera
Television Director: Large, Brian

Festival: Salzburg Festival
Venue: Felsenreitschule, Salzburg
Playing Time: 03:01:29
Catalogue Number: A04001537

Alban Berg's Lulu is a rarely performed work that calls for a very large orchestra as well as a large cast of vocal soloists. Written in the 1930s, Lulu is the story of a lower-class girl who uses men as stepping-stones on her path to fame and fortune and who ultimately meets her own fate at the hands of Jack the Ripper. Lulu, a tragic creature and femme fatale - nobody could allegorize such a role better then Patricia Petibon. As a sensual, ethereally beautiful Lulu, she commands the public's attention in every scene.

Leading the Wiener Philharmoniker, conductor Marc Albrecht treats the rich sonorities of Berg's music as a natural extension of Wagner, Brahms and Strauss. He thus provides an ideal support for the two main protagonists of the work, which is next to Patricia Petibon's Lulu Michael Volle's Dr. Schon. She is complemented by Volle's powerful baritone as well as tenor Pavol Breslik, bass-baritone Franz Grundheber and Tanja Ariane Baumgartner as a heartrending Countess Geschwitz.

A particularly stunning feature of this production are the painted backdrops by Daniel Richter, one of the most internationally prized German painters of today. Whether depicting Lulu herself, a horde of menacing, grimacing faces or an eerie, stylized winter landscape, the gigantic backdrops dominate the stage and set the tone for the story.

Since the work was left incomplete at Berg's death, the missing third act was completed on the basis of Berg's sketches by Austrian composer Friedrich Cerha, who was awarded the renowned "Salzburg Music Award" in 2010.

Part 1


Select language: